Write like you think


It’s an interesting concept that most “experts” will tell you to avoid. As they put it; it could be unprofessional. Well, I’m sure it is. But the only thing professionalism is good for is the meeting room. In the real world you want to be honest to your audience, unless you’re someone nobody could stand. If you are, the experts may be right.

Truth in the matter is people want life, your life is good enough. In this case it is the life you’re going to share with them through your words. They want to be immersed in things unprofessional. Trust me, no one wants to leave all the excitement of the job (please note sarcasm) to read something professional if they don’t have to. So let loose and bring those words to life.

Take some chances. Don’t just write blah blah blah. Even if you’re doing a news report it’s still writing. Yes I have done it, maybe you should read some of my news articles (shameless plugin). And yes I’ve taken markdown on project ratings just becuase I had to be a part of what I was writing. Nope I’m not a type A, but boredom is bad. Very bad.

when you write; be it love, lust, hate, or whatever it is write what you feel. Even if you add a few choice words, ehem, seen a few of those. I know people tend to frown on writing swears, but make the upset and see the hypocrisy. Take my advice and must put words to the paper, erm, whatever medium you’re using.

Write with two objectives in mind, to be loved or hated. Don’t fall in the, meh, zone. You want people talking about your work. Not saying it was ok, you want it to be wow or WOW, either one works. Yes genius there’s a difference… You’ll figure it out soon enough.

Make sure you remember to have fun. Visualize what you’re writing. See it from the readers’ perspective, however many there are. I have been known to bust out laughing while reading my own writing. Generates responses, curious looks, and other things to boot. But all that to me is interest, good or bad.

Lastly, don’t be a whimp. I know this is writing and all writers have the nerd / geek gene. But you have to accept all forms of feedback. Trust me there will be some harsh ones. But what doesn’t kill you will make you stronger… Unless you see one of the objects of your topics looking at you angrily. But, lemme leave you here. Wish you luck with your next piece.

Alpha~Meta

6 comments on “Write like you think

  1. Howdy very cool blog!! Guy .. Excellent .. Amazing ..
    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds additionally?
    I’m satisfied to seek out numerous useful info here within the publish, we want work out
    more strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. .

    . . . .

  2. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog centered on the same subjects you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.

    I know my viewers would appreciate your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an e mail.

  3. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is great blog. A fantastic read. I’ll certainly be back.

Your feedback and comments are always welcome

